Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

11 books named to 2024 Leacock Medal longlist

The 11 books longlisted for the 2024 Leacock Medal. (Stephen Leacock Associates)

The longlist for the 2024 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour has been released.

The annual award for literary humour grants a $25,000 prize to the winner and two $5,000 prizes to the runners-up. It has been awarded annually since 1947, and previous winners include Terry Fallis, W.O. Mitchell, Stuart McLean, and last year’s winner, Wayne Johnston.

This year, instead of the usual 10-book longlist, 11 books have been named to the list after three titles tied for 9th place, the Stephen Leacock Associates said in releasing the list.

The three finalists will be announced on May 21, with the winner to be named at a gala dinner in Orillia, Ont., on June 22.

The longlisted titles are: