Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

2021 BC and Yukon Book Prizes winners announced

Eight book prizes and two awards to writers for their body of work and contributions to the literary community were given out at the 37th annual B.C. and Yukon Book Prizes Gala. Administered by The West Coast Book Prize Society, the B.C. and Yukon Book Prizes celebrate the achievements of B.C. and Yukon writers, illustrators and publishers. The awards gala was held online and hosted by Monique Gray Smith.

The winners are:

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize

Shaena Lambert, Petra (Random House Canada)

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize

Billy-Ray Belcourt, A History of My Brief Body (Hamish Hamilton Canada/Penguin Random House Canada)

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize

Michael Prior, Burning Province (McClelland & Stewart)

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize

Kwanlin Dün First Nation, Kwanlin Dün (Figure 1 Publishing)

Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize

Sara Cassidy; Charlene Chua, illus., Genius Jolene (Orca Book Publishers)

Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize

Rina Singh and Ellen Rooney, illus., Grandmother School (Orca Book Publishers)

Jim Deva Prize for Writing that Provokes

Joel Bakan, The New Corporation (Allen Lane Canada/Penguin Canada)

Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award

Robert Amos, The E. J. Hughes Book of Boats (TouchWood Editions)

Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence

Joseph A. Dandurand

Borealis Prize: The Commissioner of Yukon Award for Literary Contribution

Joanna Lilley