Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Acclaimed Canadian authors announced for 2020 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury

(Clockwise from top left) Claire Armistead, David Chariandy, Tom Rachman, Mark Sakamoto, and Eden Robinson.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize has announced a jury of four acclaimed Canadian authors for its 2020 prize: David Chariandy, Tom Rachman, Eden Robinson, and Mark Sakamoto, who will serve as chair. Chariandy, Rachman, and Robinson were previously longlisted for the Giller. They are joined by Claire Armistead, British critic and editor of the Culture section at the Guardian.

Fiction published between Oct. 1, 2019, and Sept. 30, 2020, is eligible for the $100,000 prize. For the first time, graphic novels are eligible.

One-hundred-nineteen books were submitted for the 2019 prize, with Ian Williams’s experimental novel The Innocents taking the grand prize. The Giller longlist will be announced in St. John’s, Newfoundland, in early September. The shortlist will be announced in early October in Toronto. The winner will be announced in Toronto at a televised black-tie dinner.