Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Anthony Bidulka, Thomas King, and Sam Shelstad among 2023 Crime Writers of Canada award winners

The Crime Writers of Canada announced the winners of their 2023 Awards of Excellence in an online ceremony on May 25.

In addition to the 10 book prizes, Jack Batten received the Derrick Murdoch Award, given every two years in recognition of significant contributions to the crime, mystery, and thriller genres in Canada.

The winners are listed below.

Best Crime Novel 

Best First Crime Novel

Howard Engel Award for Best Crime Novel Set in Canada

Whodunit Award for Best Traditional Mystery

Brass Knuckles Award for Best Nonfiction Crime Book

Best French Crime Book (Fiction and Nonfiction)

Best Juvenile or YA Crime Book (Fiction and Nonfiction)

The Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript

  • Mary Keenan, Snowed

Best Crime Short Story

  • Alexis Stefanovich-Thomson, The Man Who Went Down Under (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazines)

Best Crime Short Story

  • Craig H. Bowlsby, The Girl Who Was Only Three Quarters Dead (Mystery Magazine)

The winners were selected from shortlists announced by the Crime Writers of Canada in April.

By: Q&Q Staff

May 26th, 2023

4:38 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: , ,