Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

David Bergen and Helen Olsen Agger among winners at the 2022 Manitoba Book Awards

The 2022 Manitoba Book Awards winners were announced on June 9.

The shortlists had been revealed in May.

The winners are:

McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award

Out of Mind by David Bergen (Goose Lane Editions)

Alexander Kennedy Isbister Award for Non-Fiction

Dadibaajim: Returning Home Through Narrative by Helen Olsen Agger (University of Manitoba Press)

Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction

Hour of the Crab by Patricia Robertson (Goose Lane Editions)
Prodigies by Bob Armstrong (Five Star/Gale)

Michael Van Rooy Award for Genre Fiction

So Many Windings by Catherine Macdonald (At Bay Press)

McNally Robinson Book for Young People (Younger Category)

I Sang You Down from the Stars by Tasha Spillett-Sumner (Owlkids Books)

Lansdowne Prize for Poetry

The Lost Cafeteria by Joel Robert Ferguson (Signature Editions)

Mary Scorer Award for Best Book by a Manitoba Publisher

Did You See Us? Reunion, Remembrance, and Reclamation at an Urban Indian Residential School by Survivors of the Assiniboia Indian Residential School; preface by Theodore Fontaine, edited by Andrew Woolford, design by Vincent Design (University of Manitoba Press)

Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award

Mont-Blanc-Winnipeg Express by Seream (Les Éditions du Blé)

Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book

Persephone’s Children: A Life in Fragments by Rowan McCandless (Dundurn Press)
We Are All Perfectly Fine: A Memoir of Love, Medicine and Healing by Jillian Horton (HarperCollins Publishers )

John Hirsch Emerging Manitoba Writer Award

Chimwemwe Undi

Manuela Dias Book Design and Illustration Awards – Book Design

Warehouse Journal Volume Thirty, edited & designed by Chelsea Colburn & Teresa Lyons (Warehouse Journal, Faculty of Architecture, University of Manitoba)

Manuela Dias Book Design and Illustration Awards – Children’s Illustration

You Came From My Heart by Brenlee Coates and Roberta Landreth, ill. (FriesenPress)


June 10th, 2022

11:21 am

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: ,