Quill and Quire

« Back to Omni

Debut short-fiction celebrated on Danuta Gleed shortlist

Djamila Ibrahim

The five finalists have been announced for the Danuta Gleed Literary Award. The $10,000 prize, administered by the Writers’ Union of Canada, is awarded for the best first collection of short fiction.

The finalists were chosen by authors Heather O’Neill, Ayelet Tsabari, and Richard Van Camp. The winner will be announced at the writers’ conference OnWords in Halifax on June 1.

The finalists are listed below.