Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Finalists for the Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award are announced

Ten finalists have been announced for the 2021 Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award. Established in 1985, the award is presented to a Canadian illustrator in recognition of outstanding artistic talent.

The finalists include:

  • Window, illustrated by Marion Arbona (Kids Can Press)
  • Le grand méchant loup dans ma maison, illustrated by Nathalie Dion and written by Valérie Fontaine (Les 400 Coups)
  • The Barnabus Project, illustrated by The Fan Brothers (Tundra Books)
  • The Three Brothers, illustrated by Marie-Louise Gay (Groundwood Books)
  • The Old Woman, illustrated by Nahid Kazemi and written by Joanne Schwartz (Groundwood Books)
  • The Lady with the Books, illustrated by Marie Lafrance and written by Kathy Stinson (Kids Can Press)
  • The Paper Boat, illustrated by Thao Lam (Owlkids Books)
  • Snow Days, illustrated by Miki Sato and written by Deborah Kerbel (Pajama Press)
  • At the Pond, illustrated by Geraldo Valério (Groundwood Books)
  • The Egg, illustrated by Geraldo Valério (Owlkids Books)

The award, which includes a cheque for $1,000, is administered by the Canadian section of the International Board of Books for Young People. The winner will be announced on March 6, 2021.