Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Jen Sookfong Lee, Eden Robinson on Carol Shields Prize jury

Jen Sookfong Lee (Kyrani Kanavaro); Eden Robinson (Red Works Photography); Claire Messud (Lucian Wood); Laila Lalami (Jessica Castro); Dolen Perkins-Valdez (Elena Valdez)

The Carol Shields Prize for Fiction has announced the five writers who will serve as the jury for this year’s award.

The annual award, now in its second year, awards $200,000 (U.S.) in prize money each year and is the largest award for women and non-binary writers in the world.

This year’s jury includes two Canadian writers: jury chair Jen Sookfong Lee and Eden Robinson. They are joined on the jury by American authors Laila Lalami, Claire Messud, and Dolen Perkins-Valdez.

“These five writers represent some of the best of literature in Canada and the United States, and we are honoured that they have made the commitment to spend a year with the Carol Shields Prize Foundation to read, discuss, and celebrate books written by women and non-binary writers in 2023,” Alexandra Skoczylas, CEO of The Carol Shields Prize for Fiction, said in a release.

The longlist for this year’s prize will be announced on March 8, International Women’s Day, with the shortlist announcement to follow on April 9. The winner will be announced on May 13.


January 31st, 2024

12:54 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: , ,