Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Kate Beaton and Jonathan Dyck among 2023 Doug Wright Award winners

The winners of the 19th annual Doug Wright Awards were announced in Toronto on Saturday, April 29, in conjunction with the Toronto Comic Arts Festival. The awards for Canadian cartooning annually honour excellence in comics (including webcomics) and graphic novels published in English. The awards returned to an indoor venue this year as well being broadcast live online.

The Doug Wright Award for best book
Kate Beaton, Ducks (Drawn & Quarterly)

The Nipper: The Doug Wright Award for emerging talent 
Jonathan DyckShelterbelts (Conundrum Press)

The Pigskin Peters: The Doug Wright Award for best small- or micro-press book 
Ivana Filipovich, Where Have You Been?, translated by Ivana Filipovich and Andrea Hankinson (self-published)

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book 
Cory Silverberg and Fiona Smyth, You Know, Sex (Triangle Square/Penguin Random House Canada)

This year’s Giants of the North inductee was comic book artist and painter Henriette Valium (1959–2021).

The winners in each category receive a trophy and a small cash prize. The winner of The Nipper also receives a week-long stay at the Valleyview Artist Retreat, in Caledon, Ontario.

By: Q&Q Staff

May 1st, 2023

10:45 am

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: , ,