Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

League of Canadian Poets announce finalists for 2019 Book Awards

Dani Couture’s poetry collection Listen Before Transmit is shortlisted for the Pat Lowther Memorial Award (Roberta Baker)

The League of Canadian Poets have announced the shortlist for the 2019 Book Awards. Finalists have been announced in three categories.

The $2,000 Gerald Lampert Memorial Award recognizes a debut book of poetry published by a Canadian. The $2,000 Pat Lowther Memorial Award recognizes a book of poetry by a Canadian woman. The $2,000 Raymond Souster Award recognizes a book of poetry by a member of the League of Canadian Poets.

The winners will be announced on June 8 at a ceremony in St. John’s. The winner of the Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award for Spoken Word will also be announced at that time.

Gerald Lampert Memorial Award Shortlist
•    Ekke, Klara du Plessis (Palimpsest Press)
•    Quarry, Tanis Franco (University of Calgary Press)
•    Unstable Neighbourhood Rabbit, Mikko Harvey (House of Anansi Press)
•    Dividing the Wayside, Jenny Haysom (Palimpsest Press)
•    Obits., Tess Liem (Coach House Books)
•    Port of Being, Shazia Hafiz Ramji (Invisible Publishing)

Pat Lowther Memorial Award Shortlist
•    Listen Before Transmit, Dani Couture (Wolsak & Wynn)
•    Ekke, Klara du Plessis (Palimpsest Press)
•    Body Work, Emilia Nielsen (Signature Editions)
•    East and West, Laura Ritland (Véhicule Press)
•    Reunion, Deanna Young (Brick Books)
•    The Missing Field, Jennifer Zilm (Guernica Editions)

Raymond Souster Award Shortlist
•    Anatomic, Adam Dickinson (Coach House)
•    I left nothing inside on purpose, Stevie Howell (McClelland & Stewart)
•    Welcome to the Anthropocene, Alice Major (University of Alberta Press)
•    Tar Swan, David Martin (NeWest Press)
•    Rooster, Dog, Crow, Jim Nason (Frontenac House)
•    Ledi by Kim Trainor (Book*hug)


April 25th, 2019

11:52 am

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: ,