Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Michael Christie, Wayne Arthurson, Tom Ryan among Arthur Ellis Award winners

Michael Christie (Jennilee Marigomen)

Michael Christie (Jennilee Marigomen)

The winners for the 2020 Arthur Ellis Awards for Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing were announced on the Canadian Crime Writers of Canada’s website and its various social-media channels. This year’s awards gala was cancelled because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

First-time winners include novelist Michael Christie and YA author Tom Ryan.

The full list of winners is below.

Best Crime Novel

  • Greenwood, Michael Christie (McClelland & Stewart)

The Angela Harrison Memorial Award for Best Crime First Novel

  • Nobody Move, Philip Elliott (Into the Void Press)

Best Crime Novella

Best Crime Short Story

  • “Closing Doors,” Peter Sellers (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine)

Best French Crime Book

  • Tempêtes, Andrée Michaud (Éditions Québec Amériques)

Best Juvenile or YA Crime Book

Best Non-fiction Crime Book

The Unhanged Arthur Award for Best Unpublished Crime Manuscript

  • The Dieppe Letters, Liz Rachel Walker

The 2020 Grand Master Award: Peter Robinson


May 22nd, 2020

2:46 pm

Category: Awards