Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Shelly Kawaja wins 2022 BMO Winterset Award

Shelly Kawaja

Shelly Kawaja has won the 2022 BMO Winterset Award for her debut novel The Raw Light of Morning.

The book, published in September 2022 by Breakwater Books, was one of three finalists for the $12,500 prize that celebrates excellence in Newfoundland and Labrador writing. The other two finalists, Lisa Moore and Meghan Greeley, each receive $3,000.

Kawaja’s book was chosen by a jury comprised of Douglas Walbourne-Gough, 2021 Winterset winner Carmella Gray-Cosgrove, and Mary-Deanne Shears. The jury read 40 books by Newfoundland and Labrador authors to determine the winners of this year’s award.

Lieutenant Governor Judy Foote presented the award at a ceremony in St. John’s on Thursday.