Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Short fiction finalists announced for the 2020 Journey Prize

Jessica Johns

Lisa Foad, David Huebert, and Jessica Johns are finalists for the 2020 Journey Prize. The annual $10,000 prize is awarded to the best short fiction by an emerging writer appearing in a literary publication. Finalists will receive $1,000; the journal that published the winning story will receive $2,000.

Finalists were chosen by jury members and acclaimed short fiction writers Amy Jones, Doretta Lau, and Téa Mutonji. Stories by all 13 writers on the longlist will be published in the annual Journey Prize Stories collection, scheduled to appear on Sept. 22 from McClelland & Stewart. Next year’s Journey Prize will celebrate emerging Black writers.

The winner will be announced on October 21 during the virtual Writers’ Trust Awards: Emerging Writers Edition alongside the winners of the Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers and the RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers.

Lisa Foad and David Huebert

The finalists are listed below.

  • “Hunting,” Lisa Foad (Taddle Creek)
  • “Chemical Valley,” David Huebert (The Fiddlehead)
  • “Bad Cree,” Jessica Johns (Grain)