Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Six authors shortlisted for Amazon First Novel Award

Nancy Jo Cullen (Rachel Idzerda)

The shortlist has been announced for the Amazon First Novel Award. The winner, to be announced online the morning of June 25, will receive $60,000. The remaining shortlisted authors will receive $6,000.

The jury for the First Novel Award comprises novelists Liz Harmer, Shani Mootoo, and Anakana Schofield. The finalists are listed below.

  • The Western Alienation Merit BadgeNancy Jo Cullen (Wolsak & Wynn Publishers/Buckrider Books)
  • Going Dutch, James Gregor (Simon & Schuster Canada)
  • Mooncalves, Victoria Hetherington (Now Or Never Publishing)
  • Aria, Nazanine Hozar (Knopf Canada)
  • The Dishwasher, Stéphane Larue (Biblioasis/Biblioasis International Translation Series)
  • When We Were Vikings, Andrew David MacDonald (Simon & Schuster Canada)