Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Stephen Poloz wins 2023 National Business Book Award

Stephen Poloz, centre, won the 2023 National Business Book Award.

Former Bank of Canada governor Stephen Poloz has won the $30,000 National Business Book Award.

Poloz was awarded the 2023 prize at a luncheon in Toronto on Nov. 8 for his book The Next Age of Uncertainty: How the World Can Adapt to a Riskier Future (Allen Lane Canada/Penguin Random House Canada).

The annual award, presented by Miles S. Nadal, honours the book that displays the best Canadian business-related writing, research, and originality.

Poloz’s book was one of three finalists for this year’s award. Also nominated were Steve Mayer and Andrew Willis for their book Unprecedented – Canada’s Top CEOs on Leadership During COVID-19 (Signal/Penguin Random House Canada) and Wes Hall for his memoir No Bootstraps When You’re Barefoot: My Rise from a Jamaican Plantation Shack to the Boardrooms of Bay Street (Random House Canada).

The finalists for this year’s award were selected by a jury comprised of chair Deirdre McMurdy, Anna Porter, Bobby Siu, and Senator Pamela Wallin.

Previous winners of the prize include Stephen R. Bown and former Bank of Canada governor Mark Carney in 2021, Andrea Benoit, and last year’s winners, Adam Miron, Sébastien St-Louis, and Julie Beun.


November 9th, 2023

8:30 am

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: , ,