Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Jury announced for inaugural Carol Shields Prize for Fiction

Anita Rau Badami, Merilyn Simonds, Monique Truong, katherena vermette, Crystal Wilkinson

The Carol Shields Prize for Fiction has announced the jury for the inaugural award. It includes Canadian authors Anita Rau Badami, Merilyn Simonds, and katherena vermette, and American authors Monique Truong and Crystal Wilkinson.

The panel will decide the longlist, shortlist, and the winner.

The prize for literary excellence, named after the American-born and Canadian-based author Carol Shields, is designed to acknowledge, celebrate, and promote the best works of fiction written by women and non-binary writers in Canada and the United States. The annual prize was established in early 2020 and will be awarded for the first time on May 4, 2023.

The longlist will be announced on March 8 (International Women’s Day) and the shortlist on April 6.

Four finalists will each receive $12,500, with the winning author awarded $150,000.

By: Q&Q Staff

January 26th, 2023

1:49 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: ,