Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

The League of Canadian Poets announces winners of the 2018 Annual Poetry Awards

The League of Canadian Poets has named the winners of the 2018 Annual Poetry Awards:

Emily Nilsen has won the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award in recognition of an author’s first book for Otolith (Goose Lane Editions).

Karen Enns has won the Raymond Souster Award, presented to a member of the League, for Cloud Physics (University of Regina Press).

Lesley Belleau has won the Pat Lowther Memorial Award, open to Canadian women working in poetry, for Indianland (ARP Books).

Dwayne Morgan has won the Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award for best spoken-word artist.

Each prize winner receives $2,000. The awards were presented at a luncheon in Toronto on June 16 hosted by poet and spoken-word coach Tanya Neumeyer.

Marilyn Dumont, an Alberta-born poet and professor of English and Film Studies at the University of Alberta, was granted the Life Membership Award for her contributions to poetry in Canada.

The University of Regina Press was granted the Honorary Membership Award for their partnership with the League in producing the essay anthology Measures of Astonishment: Poets on Poetry.

By: Ryan Porter

June 18th, 2018

2:10 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: , ,