Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Will Ferguson, Katrina Onstad among Crime Writers of Canada award winners

The Crime Writers of Canada have announced the winners of their Awards of Excellence in Crime Writing. The annual awards, formerly known as the Arthur Ellis Awards, recognize excellence in Canadian crime nonfiction and mystery, crime, and suspense fiction over nine categories. The winners were announced in a virtual ceremony on May 27.

This year’s winners are:

  • $1,000 Best Crime Novel award: Will Ferguson, The Finder (Simon & Schuster Canada)
  • $500 Best Crime Novel award: Guglielmo D’Izzia, The Transaction (Guernica Editions)
  • $500 Howard Engel Award for Best Crime Novel Set in Canada: Katrina Onstad, Stay Where I Can See You (HarperCollins Canada)
  • $200 Best Crime Novella award: Sam Wiebe, Never Going Back (Orca Book Publishers)
  • $300 Best Crime Short Story award: Marcelle Dubé, “Cold Wave” (Sisters in Crime – Canada West)
  • Best French Crime Book award: Roxanne Bouchard, La mariée de corail (Libre Expression)
  • $500 Best Juvenile or YA Crime Book (Fiction and Nonfiction) award: Frances Greenslade, Red Fox Road (Puffin Canada)
  • $300 Brass Knuckles Award for Best Nonfiction Crime Book: Justin Ling, Missing From the Village: The Story of Serial Killer Bruce McArthur, the Search for Justice, and the System That Failed Toronto’s Queer Community (McClelland & Stewart)
  • $500 Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript: Raymond Bazowski, The Future


May 27th, 2021

1:42 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: ,