Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Winners of the 2023 Canadian Jewish Literary Awards announced

The winners of the ninth Canadian Jewish Literary Awards have been announced. This is the first year the Irving Abella Award in History is presented. Michael Posner is the winner of a special achievement award for his trilogy of books on Leonard Cohen.

The awards ceremony will take place on October 15 at York University.

The winning titles are:

The Irving Abella Award in History
Doris Bergen, Between God and Hitler: Military Chaplains in Nazi Germany (Cambridge University Press)

Lori Weber, The Ribbon Leaf (Red Deer Press)

Moshe Safdie, If Walls Could Speak: My Life in Architecture (Atlantic Monthly Press)

Gary Barwin, The Most Charming Creatures (ECW Press)

Rebecca Margolis, Yiddish Lives On: Strategies of Language Transmission (McGill-Queens University Press)

Derek Sayer, Postcards from Absurdistan: Prague at the End of History (Princeton University Press)

Jewish Thought and Culture
Sara Ronis, Demons in the Details: Demonic Discourse and Rabbinic Culture in Late Antique Babylonia (University of California Press)

Holocaust Literature
Josef Lewkowicz, The Survivor: How I Survived Six Concentration Camps and Became a Nazi Hunter (HarperCollins)

Children and Youth
Heather Camlot, The Prisoner and the Writer (Groundwood Books)

Special Achievement Award
Michael Posner, Leonard Cohen, Untold Stories (Simon & Schuster Canada)

Special Citation
Simon-Pierre Lacasse, Les Juifs de la Révolution tranquille: regards d’une minorité religieuse sur le Québec de 1945 à 1976 (University of Ottawa Press)

By: Q&Q Staff

September 22nd, 2023

5:01 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: , ,