Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Writers’ Trust honours four career authors with $25,000 prizes

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has announced the recipients of four $25,000 prizes for career writers: Dennis Lee, Kerri Sakamoto, Armand Garnett Ruffo, and Marianne Dubuc. Though the live reception where the authors would traditionally accept their awards was cancelled because of COVID-19, interviews with the winners will be posted on the Writers’ Trust’s Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

The awards and their winners follow.

Dennis Lee (Susan Perly)

Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life
Patsy Aldana, Anita Rau Badami, and Wayne Grady

Dennis Lee, the Governor General’s Literary Award-winning poet best known for the classic children’s collection Alligator Pie, won this award for a senior writer working in poetry or prose.

Kerri Sakamoto

The Writers’ Trust Engel Findley Award
Timothy Taylor, Souvankham Thammavongsa, and Kathleen Winter

Kerri Sakamoto, author of novels The Electrical Field, One Hundred Million Hearts, and The Floating City, won the award for mid-career fiction writing.

Armand Garnett Ruffo

Latner Writers’ Trust Poetry Prize
Marilyn Dumont, Susan Glickman, and Kaie Kellough

Armand Garnett Ruffo, the author of five collections of poetry inspired by his Ojibwe cultural heritage, has won the award for a poet in mid-career.

Marianne Dubuc

Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People
Caroline Adderson, Kyo Maclear, and Susan Perren

Marianne Dubuc, the francophone children’s author and illustrator whose most recent book What Do You Want, Little Friend? received a starred-review from Q&Q, received this award for children’s literature.