Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

2023 Alberta Literary Awards finalists announced

The 2023 Alberta Literary Awards finalists were announced by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta (WGA) on April 4. The awards honour excellence in literary work written by Alberta authors and published or created in 2021–22. From a total of 300 submissions, 27 finalists were named in nine categories.

The finalists for the Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize and the City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize, both administered by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta, were also announced on April 3 and 5.

The winners will be announced at the Alberta Literary Awards Gala in Calgary on June 3, which happens in conjunction with the hybrid 2023 WGA annual conference (June 2–4).

The shortlisted authors are listed below.

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction

Memoir Award

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

  • Heather Morrow, Alex & Michael & Hannah
  • Caroline Russell-King, High and Splendid Braveries
  • Trevor Schmidt, Two-Headed/Half-Hearted

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction

  • paulo da costa, “Enclosures” (Reckoning)
  • Marcello Di Cintio, “The Cowboy Exclaims” (Canadian Geographic)
  • Kyra Lark Koustrup, “You and the Grass” (Freefall)

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story

  • Lareina Abbott, “Ma Soeur Marie” (Prairie Witch Anthology)
  • Suzanne Johnston, “Confidants” (The Saturday Evening Post)
  • C.J. Lavigne, “Bees in Winter” (Corvid Queen)

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award

  • Patti Edgar, “One More Apostle Than You”
  • Kim McCullough, “Mare Tranquillitatis”
  • Seth Rasporich, “Tacoshop22rl”

By: Q&Q Staff

April 10th, 2023

4:36 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: , , , ,