Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

2024 Alberta Literary Awards shortlists

The finalists for the 2024 Alberta Literary Awards were announced by The Writers’ Guild of Alberta in early April.

The winners will be announced at the Alberta Literary Awards Gala on June 8, during the annual WGA Conference in Edmonton. In addition to these awards, Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize and The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize shortlists were announced separately.

The shortlisted titles are:

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (Chapter Books)

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

Memoir Award

  • Cecile Beaulieu, Brother Broken (FriesenPress)
  • Charlotte Bellows, The Definition of Beautiful (Freehand Books)
  • Jennifer Bowering-Delisle, Micrographia (Gordon Hill Press)

Short Story Collection

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Book of Poetry

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

  • Caleigh Crow, There is Violence and There is Righteous Violence and There is Death, or the Born Again Crow (Playwrights Canada Press)
  • Mieko Ouch, Burning Mom (Playwrights Canada Press)
  • Josée Thibeault, La fille du facteur (Les Éditions du Blé)

James H. Gray Awards for Short Nonfiction

  • paulo da costa, The Stones that Anchor Us (Queens Quarterly)
  • Patti Edgar, Ascending in a Hotel Conference Room (The Dalhousie Review)
  • Thomas Wharton, Cat Fox Neutrino (Hazlitt)

Howard O’Hagan Short Story Award

  • Katherine Abbass, Fred (The Malahat Review)
  • Astrid Blodgett, How to Read Water (University of Alberta Press)
  • Ben Lof, The Care Bears (The Malahat Review)

Jon Whyte Memorial Unpublished Essay Award

  • Antoinette Bekker, The Sensibilities of Dogs
  • Marcello Di Cintio, Desconocido
  • Julie Sedivy, Prosthesis
Robert Kroetsch – City of Edmonton Book Prize
The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

By: Q&Q Staff

April 25th, 2024

10:53 am

Category: Awards, Industry News