Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Brandi Morin, Suzette Mayr, and Matthew James Weigel among winners of the 2023 Alberta Literary Awards

The 41st Alberta Literary Awards were presented by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta (WGA) on June 3 at a ceremony in Calgary. The shortlists were announced in April.

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction

Memoir Award

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

  • Caroline Russell-King, High and Splendid Braveries

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction

  • paulo da costa, “Enclosures” (Reckoning)

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story

  • Lareina Abbott, “Ma Soeur Marie” (Prairie Witch Anthology)

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award

  • Kim McCullough, “Mare Tranquillitatis”

Matthew James Weigel won the Robert Kroetsch – City of Edmonton Book Prize for his poetry collection Whitemud Walking (Coach House Books), announced on May 3 as part of The Edmonton Arts Prizes.

The winner of the City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize will be announced on June 14.