Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

David Chariandy and Arthur Manuel among winners of the 2018 B.C. Book Prizes

David Chariandy

David Chariandy (Alana Paterson)

David Chariandy has been named the winner of the 2018 Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize for his novel, Brother (McClelland & Stewart). Chariandy, who also won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, was named the winner out of a field of five nominees that also comprised Daniel Zomparelli’s story collection Everything Is Awful and You’re a Terrible Person (Arsenal Pulp Press), Zoe Leigh Peterson’s novel Next Year, for Sure (Doubleday Canada), Eden Robinson’s novel Son of a Trickster (Knopf Canada), and Andrea McPherson’s novel What We Once Believed (Caitlin Press).

The award was one of seven B.C. Book Prizes given out on Saturday at a ceremony in Vancouver. A total of $14,000 in prize money was dispersed among the winning titles.

Arthur Manuel, an activist and author from the Secwepemc Nation, was awarded posthumously for a book co-written with Grand Chief Ronald Derrickson of the Westbank First Nation. The Reconciliation Manifesto: Recovering the Land and Rebuilding the Economy (James Lorimer and Co. Limited) won the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize.

The other winners were:

  • Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize: Changing Tides: Vanishing Voices of Nikkei Fishermen and Their Families, Kotaro Hayashi, Fumio “Frank” Kanno, Henry Tanaka, and Jim Tanaka, eds. (Nikkei National Museum & Cultural Centre)
  • Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize: Prison Industrial Complex Explodes, Mercedes Eng (Talonbooks)
  • Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize: The Nameless City: The Stone Heart, Faith Erin Hicks (First Second)
  • Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize: Zero Repeat Forever, G.S. Prendergast (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
  • Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award: On Island: Life Among the Coast Dwellers, Pat Carney (TouchWood Editions)

Each winning title receives $2,000.

The B.C. Book Prizes have been awarded since 1985. They recognize the best achievements from B.C. writers, illustrators, editors, and publishers.