Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Jessica Johns, Jennifer Bowering-Delisle among 2024 Alberta Literary Awards winners

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta handed out the 2024 Alberta Literary Awards on June 8. The ceremony was part of the annual WGA Conference in Edmonton.

The winners, chosen from shortlists announced in April, are:

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (Chapter Books)

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

  • David Laurence Jones, New World Dreams: Canadian Pacific Railway and the Golden Northwest (Heritage House)

Memoir Award

Short Story Collection

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Book of Poetry

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

James H. Gray Awards for Short Nonfiction

  • paulo da costa, The Stones that Anchor Us (Queens Quarterly)

Howard O’Hagan Short Story Award

  • Astrid Blodgett, How to Read Water (University of Alberta Press)

Jon Whyte Memorial Unpublished Essay Award

  • Antoinette Bekker, The Sensibilities of Dogs

Jennifer Bowering-Delisle’s Micrographia had been previously announced as winner of the Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize.

The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize will be announced on June 12.


June 10th, 2024

2:12 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: , ,