Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Kim Spencer takes home three CCBC Awards

2023 CCBC Book Awards winners

On October 23, the Canadian Children’s Book Centre (CCBC) announced the winners of the 2023 CCBC Book Awards at an in-person ceremony held at One King West Hotel and Residence.

The TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award and $50,000, which is the largest cash prize in Canadian children’s literature, was awarded to Weird Rules to Follow by debut author Kim Spencer. Spencer also won the Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People as well as the Jean Little First-Novel Award. Orca Book Publishers, the winning publisher, received $2,500 for promotional purposes, and $10,000 will be shared among the four remaining finalists.

The seven English-language winners are:

TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award ($50,000)

Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award ($20,000)

Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non‐Fiction ($10,000)

  • The Witness Blanket: Truth, Art and Reconciliation by Carey Newman and Kirstie Hudson (Orca Book Publishers)

Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People ($5,000)

Amy Mathers Teen Book Award ($5,000)

Jean Little First-Novel Award ($5,000)

Arlene Barlin Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy ($5,000)

“We’re proud to showcase how this year’s titles introduce young readers to new places and perspectives. A common thread in these shortlisted books is the theme of connection,” said Urve Tamberg, president of the CCBC’s board of directors, in the press release. “Whether it’s the relatable relationship between a whip-smart mouse and her eccentric father, a 15-year-old Scion working with her friends to fight injustice, or an invitation to reflect on hundreds of objects connected to every residential school in Canada, these books all provide young readers a glimpse into compelling characters and divergent stories that will expand their view of the world, as well as their imaginations.”

The winners for the Prix TD will be revealed on November 6.