Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

2022 Atlantic Book Awards winners announced

The winners of the Atlantic Book Awards were announced at a gala in Halifax on June 9 as part of the Atlantic Book Awards Festival.

For the first time, the awards were also live-streamed so that remote audiences could participate.

The shortlisted authors were announced in April.

The winners are:

Alistair MacLeod Prize for Short Fiction

David Huebert, Chemical Valley (Biblioasis)

Ann Connor Brimer Award for Atlantic Canadian Children’s Literature

Chad Lucas, Thanks a Lot, Universe (Amulet Books)

APMA Best Atlantic-Published Book Award

Goose Lane Editions with The Rooms Corporation, Future Possible: An Art History of Newfoundland and Labrador by Mireille Eagan

Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing

Ardath Whynacht, Insurgent Love: Abolition and Domestic Homicide (Fernwood Publishing)

J. M. Abraham Atlantic Poetry Award

Alyda Faber, Poisonous if Eaten Raw (Goose Lane Editions)

Lillian Shepherd Memorial Award for Excellence in Illustration

Alea Marley, This is Ruby written by Sara O’Leary (Tundra)

Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award

Michelle Butler Hallett, Constant Nobody (Goose Lane Editions)

The Atlantic Book Awards are open to writers from all Atlantic provinces.

Earlier this week, the winners of the Nova Scotia Book Awards were announced at Halifax City Hall.

The winners are:

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award (Nonfiction)

Joanne Gallant, A Womb in the Shape of a Heart: My Story of Miscarriage and Motherhood (Nimbus Publishing)

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award (Fiction)

Colin Sweets Arsenault, Short Mercy (Pottersfield Press)

George Borden Writing for Change Award

Glen Canning (with Susan McClelland), My Daughter Rehtaeh Parsons (Goose Lane Editions)

Robbie Robertson Dartmouth Book Award (Fiction)

Sharon Robart-Johnson, Jude and Diana (Fernwood Publishing)

Evelyn Richardson Nonfiction Award

Stephen Kimber, Alexa!: Changing the Face of Canadian Politics (Goose Lane Editions)


June 9th, 2022

8:00 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News