Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Casey Plett to chair 2022 Giller jury


Kaie Kellough, Katie Kitamura, Casey Plett, Waubgeshig Rice, Scott Spencer


The Scotiabank Giller Prize has announced the lineup of the five-member jury that will determine the winner of this year’s award.

Award-winning author Casey Plett will chair the 2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury, joined by fellow Canadians Kaie Kellough and Waubgeshig Rice, and American authors Katie Kitamura and Scott Spencer.

The longlist for the award will be announced at an event in St. John’s in September, with the announcement of the shortlist to follow later that month from Toronto. The winner will be announced at a televised black-tie event in Toronto in November. Plans are tentative and will follow any COVID-19 public health guidelines.

Books with publication dates between Oct. 1, 2021, and Feb. 28, 2022, are currently eligible for submission. The deadline to submit books published in this window is Feb. 18.