Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Finalists announced for 2023 Atlantic Book Awards

The Atlantic Book Awards Society has announced the shortlists for this year’s awards.

The annual awards celebrate excellence in Atlantic Canadian writing and publishing across six categories.

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced on June 7 at a gala in Halifax.

Alistair MacLeod Prize for Short Fiction

  • Meghan Rose Allen, The Summer the School Burned Down (Indie-published)
  • Bridget Canning, No One Knows About Us (Breakwater Books)
  • Elaine McCluskey, Rafael Has Pretty Eyes (Goose Lane Editions)

Ann Connor Brimer Award for Atlantic Canadian Children’s Literature

APMA Best Atlantic-Published Book Award

Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing

  • Carol Lynne D’Arcangelis, The Solidarity Encounter: Women, Activism, and Creating Non-Colonizing Relations (UBC Press)
  • Mark David Turner, ed., Inuit TakugatsaliuKatiget / On Inuit Cinema (Memorial University Press)
  • Elizabeth Yeoman, Exactly What I Said: Translating Words and Worlds (University of Manitoba Press)

J. M. Abraham Atlantic Poetry Award

Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award

By: Q&Q Staff

April 12th, 2023

1:18 pm

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: ,