Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Six finalists announced for Brownwen Wallace Awards for Emerging Writers

Bronwen Wallace Award finalists for short fiction

Short fiction finalists: Carolyn Chung, Anna Ling Kaye, Joshua Wales (Ling Kaye: Rosalee Yagihara)

The finalists have been announced for the Writers’ Trust of Canada’s Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers. The awards – one for poetry and one for short fiction – celebrate the best unpublished work by an emerging writer of any age. The criteria was changed this year to allow writers over the age of 35 to submit.

Three finalists have been shortlisted in each of the poetry and short fiction categories. Each finalist will receive $2,500 and a mentorship with an established editor and the winners, to be announced on June 16, will each receive $10,000.

Bronwen Wallace Poetry Award finalists

Poetry: Jessica Bebenek, Hannah Green, Zehra Naqvi


  • “Selections from No One Knows Us There,” Jessica Bebenek
  • “XANAX COWBOY,” Hannah Green
  • “The Knot of My Tongue,” Zehra Naqvi

Jury: Irfan Ali, Domenica Martinello, and Jacob McArthur Mooney

Short fiction

  • “Bright Fish, Dead Bird,” Carolyn Chung
  • “East City,” Anna Ling Kaye
  • “Mass Effect,” Joshua Wales

Jury: J.R. McConvey, Zalika Reid-Benta, and John Elizabeth Stintzi